| | |
Homepage | login or create an account

Labour Names Four Candidates For 2011 Election

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Wellington, Jan 31 NZPA - Labour has already chosen its 2011 election candidates for Auckland Central, West Coast-Tasman, Ohariu and Maungakiekie.

First-term list MP Jacinda Ardhern will contest Auckland Central and Carol Beaumont, also a list MP, will contest Maungakiekie. Both are held by National.

List MP Damien O'Connor will try to take back West Coast-Tasman, the seat he lost to National in the last election.

Senior MP Charles Chauvel, another list MP, will contest Ohariu, which is held by United Future leader Peter Dunne.

Labour has started an early selection process and party president Andrew Little said today there was only one nomination for each of the four seats. There were four nominations for Waitakere, the seat held by Social Development Minister Paula Bennett, and a selection meeting will be held on March 20.

The nominations were Ann Pala, Carmel Sepuloni, Hamish McCracken and Phil Twyford.

Mr Twyford, another high performance first term list MP, is expected to win the contest.

Mr Little said all the electorates were battleground seats for Labour.

"We believe we can win back the confidence of our supporters and regain the seats in 2011," he said.

"Early selection will allow us to get our organisation and campaigning in place straight away."

The party will hold another round of selections for 35 electorates in June and July this year, and plans to have all remaining electorate candidates selected by the end of the year.

About : Politics

Find the latest politics and election news, 'how to' guides and party policies on Guide2Politics.


Your Questions. Independent Answers.