| | |
Homepage | login or create an account

Five Newcomers In Labour Shadow Lineup

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media
Annette King
Annette King

Wellington, Nov 20 NZPA - Labour's new shadow Cabinet features five newcomers and pits deputy leader Annette King against National's rookie Social Development Minister Paula Bennett.

Labour leader Phil Goff announced a lineup today that included five promotions to the frontbench and five newcomers to the shadow Cabinet.

Ruth Dyson, health, Clayton Cosgrove, law and order and state-owned enterprises, Nanaia Mahuta, evironment and tourism, Maryan Street, trade and tertiary education and Darren Hughes, transport are the frontbench promotions.

They join Mr Goff, SIS, Ms King, social development, David Cunliffe, finance, Chris Carter, education and Parekura Horomia, Maori Affairs.

The three MPs promoted into the shadow Cabinet are Charles Chauvel, climate change and energy, Moana Mackey, rural affairs and research and development, Sue Moroney, early childhood education, Winnie Laban, Pacific Island affairs and Mr Hughes.

Mr Hughes and Ms Laban were ministers outside Cabinet in the previous Labour-led government.

Former prime minister Helen Clark is Labour's new foreign affairs spokeswoman, while former deputy prime minister Michael Cullen is shadow leader of the House.

Mr Goff said there was a mix of old and new in the lineup.

NZPA PAR gf kn

About : Politics

Find the latest politics and election news, 'how to' guides and party policies on Guide2Politics.


Your Questions. Independent Answers.