| | |
Homepage | login or create an account

Guinness Peat Group appoints four new directors

Fuseworks Media
Fuseworks Media

Wellington, Sept 22 NZPA - Guinness Peat Group has appointed four new independent non-executive directors to its board.

Mike Allen, Rob Campbell, Mark Johnson and Gavin Walker join the now seven-person board, the majority independents, and non-executive directors.

The company also announced the resignation of Ron Langley, following the removal of New Zealand-based Tony Gibbs in June.

Mr Gibbs' departure came after publicly opposing plans to spin off the company's Australian assets.

Chairman Sir Ron Brierley said "the new independent, non-executive directors appointed today are of the highest calibre and add significant depth and strength to the GPG board. We are delighted that they have joined the GPG Board".

Mr Allen has more than 25 years' experience in investment banking and general management, both in New Zealand and the UK. He is a director of Breakwater Ltd, Godfrey Hirst NZ Ltd, the Retirement Villages Group, Tainui Group and NZ Windfarms Ltd.

Mr Campbell has more than 20 years' experience in investment management and corporate governance. He is a director and investment committee chair of ACC and director and audit and risk committee member of Aquasure Pty Ltd.

Mr Johnson has extensive experience in investment banking, most recently as director of several Australian publicly listed companies. He is AGL Energy chairman, and a non-executive director of Westfield Group.

Mr Walker has more than 30 years' experience in the financial services industry both at executive and board level.

He is a director of the Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation Fund, ASB Bank and ASB Life and Lion Nathan National Foods Pty Limited.

About : money

Find the latest money news and 'how to' guides on Guide2Money.

Ask our researchers your personal finance questions.

Your Questions. Independent Answers.